The Early Bird Gets The (Book)Worm

Much to my astonishment, not everyone enjoys to read. Ria, one of my four beautiful roommates, sported a blank yet apathetic stare as I raved on and on about Salman Rushdie and the authentic sense of culture he births between the pages of his novels.  “You like to read?” Ria scoffed after I breathlessly wrapped up my verbal admiration for Rushie’s, “Haroun and The Sea of Stories”; I didn’t understand. I still don’t understand. In the midst of this overly chaotic world, doesn’t everyone find solace, simplicity, within tales of wonderment? If I were to ever perish alone on a deserted island…

And would be allowed to bring only three nonliving items with me, what choice do I have but to bring three books that complete the full horizon of genre, which literature has to offer? The thought gives me anxiety-induced vertigo. The decision making for this hypothetical situation is dizzying, I feel faint with apprehension, what if I choose the wrong books?

I probably will, but here is my list anyway:

  1. A Book That I Have Not Yet Read Or Heard Of (for my edgy adrenaline-junkie side, the badass side that seeks thrill and the fear of uncertainty. Will this book be good? Who cares if it isn’t, it’ll still teach me something my knowledge lacked prior to the read and that indescribable feeling of physically flipping through the pages of a book that has all the time in the world to be discovered is enchanting)
  2. A Book That Is Blank On The Outside And The In (I would never insult my already annotated books with even more chicken scratch; reading is my segue to writing; I’ll be bored as hell on a boring island, I need a diary to vent about it since I probably wouldn’t have access to my Twitter account anymore, SOS)
  3. Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey (she’s so cool and witty, and she knows how to make fun of Gothic literature in such a relatable, humorous fashion. This isn’t my favorite book, but it’s like the 19th century novel version of Arrested Development and if you don’t enjoy the perfect amount of one-liners in that show, I don’t know who you are)

Luckily, I don’t plan on being stranded on a deserted island anytime soon, but if expectation doesn’t coincide with life so fluidly, I know I’ll be ready with a wealthy handful of magic. What do you like to read? Please don’t be shy, tell me! If you don’t like to read, what turns you off from good literature? I want to know. Well, ultimately, I want you to love reading the way I do, because reading makes our minds rich with knowledge, an untainted beauty that only the lovers of Times New Roman understand. Have a happy winter break, school-goers! Read exceedingly!

2 thoughts on “The Early Bird Gets The (Book)Worm

  1. I love reading about Medicare policies!! Jk lol I never read Pride and Prejudice when I was in high school, so I am playing catch up and reading it right now for fun. I have two thoughts about it. 1) I’ve gotten dumber — I keep having to reread passages to grasp what Jane Austen is saying. I don’t know how I read this type of literature in high school and understood what was going on. My friend told me that it is probably because I was reading and also discussing with my class about what I had read the night before. We also practically dissected every paragraph in class so it was easier to get my questions answered. Now, I am reading it leisurely and not discussing anything with anyone, so I guess it’s different. I don’t know if what my friend is true, but it is comforting haha 2) Although it is taking me forever and a day to get through each page, I’m actually enjoying myself. It feels good to exercise my brain about things other than policy and Austen actually has a pretty witty sense of humor (like you ;) )

Leave a Reply

